Book Review: Bloodbaths and Banana Cake by Addison Moore

Bloodbaths and Banana Cake is the 7th book in the Murder in the Mix mysteries. This review contains mild spoilers to previous books for the sub-plots only, but no spoilers for the actual mystery.

Lottie gets herself caught up in the middle of another murder investigation when one of Everett’s fellow judges is found dead at his going away party! The local police are determined to pin the crime on Everett. So with a mischievous ghost at her side, Lottie must find a killer before Everett ends up with life behind bars.

I’m so addicted to this series! It is like a soap opera meets cozy mystery. There is always something going on in Lottie’s life, besides the dead bodies. This time the drama comes in the form of Lottie’s boyfriend, Noah’s wife turning up unexpectedly. Especially since Lottie didn’t know Noah was married. Will this finally give Lottie and Everett a chance to form a romantic attachment? I sure hope so, as I’m #TeamEverett!

I really enjoyed the mystery, as it involved some new characters, but also a past victim coming back as a ghost to help Lottie. I found the mystery fairly easy to solve, but as readers might know by now I’m totally here for the drama! Especially with the big reveal at the end… someone from Lottie’s past is going to visit Honey Hollow very soon!

The Murder in the Mix mysteries are my favourite new series this year. It’s a long series and each one is better than the last. I can’t wait for the next book, New York Cheesecake Chaos, which is already waiting for me on my Kindle. If you enjoy mysteries with a lot of drama, you need to read this series!

Leave a comment