Book Review: The Blood-Stained Pavement by Agatha Christie

Today I’m continuing on with the Miss Marple short stories, with The Blood-Stained Pavement.

This was a eery little story about Joyce Lempiere painting on holidays, and discovering she has painted a blood-stain in her painting. However, on closer examination the blood-stain was not there.

This short story involves murder and when the denouement is revealed I felt that it definitely had a similar vibe to Death on the Nile, or at least I’m projecting that since it’s one of my favourite Christie mysteries. It was a really good story, and while I listening I became very hooked on it and stopped what I was doing to just listen.

I’m really enjoying The Complete Short Stories of Miss Marple, that I’m listening to on audio. Agatha Christie always said that Miss Marple suits the short story format and she’s completely right. The way Jane Marple can tie up a mystery in a few words is just amazing.

Leave a comment