Book Review: Motive v. Opportunity by Agatha Christie

Another Miss Marple short story… this one involving a missing will and a spirtualist.

It’s Mr Petherick’s turn to tell a story. He tells the story of a missing will, written by a Mr Simon Clode, who changes his will right before his death. The new beneficiary is a spiritualist, who he has only recently met. However, when the will is opened it is just a blank piece of paper.

Oh this one was very, VERY clever. The conclusion to this mystery was so clever that it had me laughing out loud on my dog walk, as I listened. Sometimes the most obvious answer is the answer. Instead I was looking for convoluted clues and as such, I didn’t solve it before Miss Marple. Such a clever mystery, and if you like mysteries without murder then this one will definitely be a fun one to solve!

I’m really enjoying these short stories. Each one is really different and they are fun little brain teasers to read or listen to.

Leave a comment