Book Review: The Thumb Mark of St Peter by Agatha Christie

It’s Miss Marple’s turn to tell a story, and this time it involves her niece, Mabel Denham, who is accused of murdering her husband.

No one tells a story like Miss Marple. I’m a knitter and I love that, during these short stories, she stops and counts her stitches before continuing on with her story or revealing the ending on someone else’s story! Something about Miss Marple and knitting warms my cozy heart.

That aside, this was a great one. I knew Mabel couldn’t have killed her husband, but I was at a complete loss as to how he died and by whose hand. Could it have been an accident? Even in the short stories Agatha Christie is a master of her craft, and she had me guessing until the end.

I’ve been reading these short stories for a while now [this was the 6th story so far] and I have to say… Miss Marple’s nephew, Raymond West, is so arrogant. I’m guessing this is the reaction Agatha Christie wanted the reader to have. Much like Hastings, I just roll my eyes at his complete lack of brains!!!!

The Thumb Mark of St Peter is another great story, and the title still gives me a giggle, especially considering how the story gets the title. Don’t know what I mean? Well you’ll just have to read it.

Leave a comment