Book Review: Costumes & Cadavers by Katherine H Brown

Up next I have a spook little mystery, that packs a big bite, and it has me craving more Halloween reads.

Charity Basham, owner of Sassy Supplies Crafts & More, is hosting a Halloween party at home, and is looking forward to the costume contest. However, before the judging can start a body is found in her backyard, and the police suspect her.

I’ve been reading more shorter mysteries this year and I just love them. Is it easy to solve a mystery within 300 pages? For me, yes. What about a shorter length? Well given my history with Agatha Christie short stories, I will say that is a lot harder! Costumes & Cadavers definitely gave me a challenge with trying to solve the mystery surrounding the unwanted guest’s death!

This was a fun and quick read. I’m a big fan of crafting cozies, being a yarn dyer by day, and I like that this one is centred around a craft store. Naturally craft supplies play a part in the death, and let’s just say I won’t look at them the same way again!! Charity lives with her beautiful cat, Jinx, and her grandfather, and from the small taste of her life in Costumes & Cadavers I can’t wait to learn more about her life!

If you’re looking for a fun, short mystery you can’t go wrong with Costumes & Cadavers. It’s small town charm and compelling mystery leave me wanting to read more! Luckily for me there are more mysteries in the series, especially since I’m [im]patiently awaiting the third book in her Longhorn Trucking mysteries, due to be released next month.

Leave a comment